• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

art/layout

I am a traveller newbie, but I have become very interested in T20 (I saw the ad on ENWorld, so they are working) and I will definitely get it when it comes out.

It seems like most of the decisions have been made about the book regarding content, but I thought that I would make an appeal on an issue that still seems in flux: the book's layout.

I currently writing a review for a space opera D20 book that has almost univerally received outstanding feedback from other reviewers. And while it's a book that I like a lot, I don't think it merits quite the acclaim it gets. One of the aspects of the book that I think needs work is the art/layout, and the process of writing the review has made me more sensitive to these sorts of things. I have a few suggestions...

I think art in a rules books works better when it is seen as utilitarian rather than decorative. Pictures and graphics should directly relate to adjacent text. If possible, they should elucidate this text (as in a graphic that shows positionings, moves, areas of play, or action types). Pictures of things in the book should be labelled. Most of the major items of equipment should have a corresponding graphic. There should not be any random art strewn throughout the book. Perhaps some of these items will seem rather obvious, but the book I am reviewing consistently broke these expectations (ahem, my expectations).

The best example I know of a book that does this well is the Manual of the Planes, by WotC.