far-trader
SOC-14 10K
...
Far-Trader: ...please note that the MT errata puts fusion and plasma guns back in double turrets.
Ah, much thanks. Been a while, I either missed that errata or forgot it

And thank Marc from us all for clearing the rest up

...
Far-Trader: ...please note that the MT errata puts fusion and plasma guns back in double turrets.


 )
 ) ).
 ).
OK, let's see where we're at now...
First: A mount is any major weapon (spinal), bay weapon, or turret. No questions -- it's very explicit.
 Yep, it really comes down to what is a 'weapon mount'. I won't respond further other than noting the rest relies on this basic assumption and this assumption is the key to the debate.
 Yep, it really comes down to what is a 'weapon mount'. I won't respond further other than noting the rest relies on this basic assumption and this assumption is the key to the debate.3: The designer can have the ship built with a configuration of either one battery of two lasers and one battery of one sandcaster, OR two batteries of one laser each and one battery of one sandcaster.
...
Mixed turret weapons don't get to play on both sides of the rule. Every weapon in a mixed turret is always its own battery. Yes, Jeffr0, the Rock has an illegal configuration... Sorry.
While I'd like for this to be over... I can't help but notice there's a contradiction here. At #3 you allow mixed turrets to play both sides of the rule. But with the Rock... it can't.
What gives...?
No, you'll always have two batteries of one laser each and one battery of one sandcaster. Again, it's a mixed turret, so they are all different batteries
I'd like to take the opportunity to suggest a slight change in the rules while you're straightening things out, namely that beam weapons placed in the same turret must be organized in a battery, while missile launchers and sandcasters need not be. The reason for this is that in order to hit a target, a beam weapon must be aimed straight at the target, so two or three beam waepons mounted in the same turret cannot aim for different targets, whereas missile launchers don't have to be aimed straight for the target at the moment of launch. As for sandcasters, I don't really know just how they work, but I know that a turret with a mix of one laser, one missile launcher and one sandcaster is possible. Assuming the laser has to be aimed straight for its target, it follows that neither the missile nor the sandcaster operates under the same restriction.tbeard1999: Your answers to your four questions are corrrect. Remember the reverse of the mixed turret rule means that for your question C, option #2 is NOT legal. Identical weapons in the same mixed turret cannot be grouped into a battery together, or linked with identical weapons in other mixed turrets into a battery together. Mixed turret weapons don't get to play on both sides of the rule. Every weapon in a mixed turret is always its own battery. Yes, Jeffr0, the Rock has an illegal configuration... Sorry.
Greetings Don,
referance: Bk5 pg 29, Weaponry section, Batteries, first line.
"Ships with more than one weapon mount of a type, may group them into batteries."
I think over the course of this discussion, my view rests on this opening sentance of the Batteries section. Define the meaning of 'weapon mount' and you will find one arguement or the other falls over.
Now, there is a clarification on page 29. The first one is obvious: if you're using High Guard, all ships must group their weapons into batteries. The combat system requires it for damage allocation. If you don't want to group into batteries, you must be a ship of 1000 tons and under, and you need to use Book 2 for combat (or Starter Traveller, etc).
I'd like to take the opportunity to suggest a slight change in the rules while you're straightening things out, namely that beam weapons placed in the same turret must be organized in a battery, while missile launchers and sandcasters need not be. The reason for this is that in order to hit a target, a beam weapon must be aimed straight at the target, so two or three beam waepons mounted in the same turret cannot aim for different targets, whereas missile launchers don't have to be aimed straight for the target at the moment of launch. As for sandcasters, I don't really know just how they work, but I know that a turret with a mix of one laser, one missile launcher and one sandcaster is possible. Assuming the laser has to be aimed straight for its target, it follows that neither the missile nor the sandcaster operates under the same restriction.
Yes, I'm aware that this contradicts the current rules for mixed turrets, but I submit that it makes sense. Furthermore, it has the advantage that the example from the Rock becomes legal.
Yep, it really comes down to what is a 'weapon mount'. I won't respond further other than noting the rest relies on this basic assumption and this assumption is the key to the debate.
Don't forget to ask Marc why he would have chosen that particular phrase over other options.
Look forward to your reply.
Cheers
Matt

Matt, my friend, there is no debate. It's over.
...snip... You really fought a good battle, and you're going down with the last man! Strike the colors! Save yourself!
If you were going to agree with the rest of us, you'd have done it long ago.I shan't pretend I agree with Dom's view...

I shan't pretend I agree with Dom's view, that he read or followed my last post nor that this qualifies as errata. Dom, please next time wait till the opposing view is summarised before stating your position and giving yourself a day or so to consider both arguements at least 'appears' impartial & considered, but obviously no harm was intended. In the spirit of things I shall yield the field. To do otherwise would be tedious.
First, it's DON, not Dom, who is someone else entirely...
Second, this was not a debate, where you weigh the various arguments and render a decision over a an unclear point. This was a "here's what the rule is" statement. I think that it is extremely clear, and it would see that certainly on this board, it is also the majority view.
Matt: in this case, I'm telling you that the rule as it is doesn't appear to have any room for debate. Mounts in High Guard are always weapon mounts, as there are no rules for any other mount, and a mount is always one of a major weapon (spinal), bay weapon, or turret.
If you were going to agree with the rest of us, you'd have done it long ago.
 yes, I guess so. Looked up the act of mounting on Mirriams. Its a Verb! You learn something new every day, more specifically its a 'transitive verb' but I'd have to look up 'transitive' now to follow that!
 yes, I guess so. Looked up the act of mounting on Mirriams. Its a Verb! You learn something new every day, more specifically its a 'transitive verb' but I'd have to look up 'transitive' now to follow that!yes, I guess so. Looked up the act of mounting on Mirriams. Its a Verb! You learn something new every day, more specifically its a 'transitive verb' but I'd have to look up 'transitive' now to follow that!
http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary
Mount (2)
transitive verb (action word for muppets like myself)
(6a) to attach to a support
Mount (3)
noun (naming word)
2 Frame, Support as
c(1) an undercarrage or part on which a device (as an artllery piece) rests in service
Turret
noun
3 b (2): a revolving armored structure on a warship that protects one or more guns mounted within it
(3): a similar upper structure usually for one gun on a tank
Put it all together and you get the following
"Ships with more than one weapon mount (noun) of a type..." pg 29
"Weapons may be mounted (transitive verb) in turrets (noun) emplaced on the hull" pg 30
Note that Turrets are not defined as 'supports' & guns are 'mounted within' not 'on'.
I like, I think it was tbeards, http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/mount also but trimmed my post as basically it was saying the same thing. (tbeard, if it was you? - refered to a verb (action) definition earlier instead of a noun )
So IMHO 'weapon mount' (noun) was a particular choice of word with a clear meaning as a 'Frame or Support' for a weapon. This concept of relating first to a single weapon, establishing where they fit & thier limits, then flows through the rest of the rules.
Of course if you don't like the meaning of 'weapon mount' (noun), errata is needed here and elsewhere to 'fix' stuff, but thats fine & up to the individual.

Page 24 of High Guard (both my hard copy and the PDF copy) show that the Particle Accelerator information for the H spinal mount as being 2,500 dtons, TL 15, 500 MCr, and uses 700 energy points.
When you look at the entire structure, it looks as though it tends to be set at a given value for the "smaller" spinal mount for that TL, and then increments by 500 dtons in volume.
I'm betting, that the H spinal mount is actually supposed to be 2,000 dtons, because it is 500 dtons smaller than the one preceding smallest Spinal Mount, and 1,000 dtons smaller than the largest spinal mount of TL 15's spinal mount.
