• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Where's a good place to start?

Hi All!

I'm new to Traveller, sort of. Actually, I bought the Deluxe Traveller boxed set somewhere back around 1980 and facing a lack of willing players I entertained myself with generating characters, worlds, ships, etc. until that faded and was replaced by other activities. Alas, that old boxed set fell victim to one of my wife's basement purges back before our last move.

I stumbled across the T20 site which renewed my interest. I played an Alternity (Dark*Matter) campaign with a group from work who are also into AD&D3e and might be likely victims for T20 Traveller leveraging their familiarity with the d20 mechanics.

So, I bought the CT books 0 - 8 reprint and TA#1 and have started getting reacquainted with Traveller. So I'm back to generating characters, worlds, ships, etc. My wife wonders what I'm doing sitting at the kitchen table rolling dice and scribbling strange annotations on a pad of paper after she and the kids have gone to sleep.

During my first flirtation with Traveller, "Canon" was just something players might get killed by. (sorry, bad joke) Now I see a lot of messages and sites concerned with reconciling adventures, ship designs, etc. with the Traveller canon. I'm a little overwhelmed by all the material and history that has been developed in a couple of decades.

After all that, here is my simple question. While I'm waiting for the release of T20, where should I start to look for appropriate background material from which to prepare some adventures and provide some background for my unsuspecting vict- er, players?

Any pointers would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Dean O.