• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

The Impossible Era: Referees, Rebellion, and Managing Chaos

Arsulon

SOC-12
Hey there,
I've heard and read a whole hell of a lot about how the Rebellion/Hard Times/Collapse period was purt-near impossible to GM. The reasons usually revolved around how hard it was to engage players (meaningfully, not peripherally)in the overarching socio-political, military and economic events that characterize a stellar polity tearing its guts out. I've never played or GM'd a campaign that spanned this period of Traveller history so I have no firsthand experience to confirm or deny these obsevations. I understand there was some "campaign anxiety" over GDW's seeming abandonment of its transparent resource policy; that is, the perceived shift from "tell-it-like-it-is" products that fostered a sense of partnership with the GM to resources that played their story-arch cards pretty close to the chest. Apparently some wondered if the next update from TAS would see their campaign stomping grounds overun by Vargr or atomized by Lucan. Apparently there was some worry over aligning one's players with the "right" faction: nobody likes to bet on a losing horse, and I guess it'd be depressing to see your players strung up as part of Dulinor's coronation party. Again, I didn't play or GM during this period so I don't know.