• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Serenity’s Flash and Burn; A Firefly design question.

Ranger

SOC-12
Ok, this is a question I have been playing with for a little while in my efforts to create a Firefly Traveller setting. The Firefly class ships have the ability to produce a high burst of acceleration, but how is never explained. Those of us that have designed Fireflies using Book 5 have never really dealt with the issue either (at least not that I’ve come across). Since I’m not really an engineer, even a Traveller one (thank goodness for HGS), I was wondering what those who do understand the design systems for Traveller think about the problem and this proposed solution.

My idea is that a workable answer is that Firefly class ships have been designed to allow their fusion reactor to be used as an emergency fusion rocket, venting plasma to produce a burst of acceleration to get out of trouble fast. If that’s the case, how would you deal with that in a Book 5 design?

Would you give the ship a special emergency acceleration of 6Gs?

Would you over design it so you could produce an emergency agility rating of 6?

Other ideas/options?

Thanks in advance.

Emergency acceleration is not a bad way to go.

MegaTraveller (at least) allowed up to 400% overthrust to the drives for short durations.

Specifically:

Up to 40% overthrust could be can be maintained for a few days with little damage if carefully and competantly managed.

Up to 400% overthrust (the equivalent of the Firefly burst perhaps) can only be maintained for a few minutes and at risk of severe damage despite contiuous monitoring by highly skilled crew.

I think you'd have to sacrifice any (and all) agility to run hot enough to get the 400% performance. It's for running, not dodging

Have you decided if the firefly drive is for FTL travel or for faster travel around a single system?