• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

sentient electronic devices; why not?

TheDS

SOC-13
In another thread, which I forgot to check up on in the past couple weeks (stupid moving and waiting for internet access), our good friend the Engineer said:

TheDS mentioned

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MY only problem with virus is that I don't believe an electronic device can become sentient,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why dont You believe that ?
Or, whats Your definition of sentience ?
In the Navy, I was a computer tech. Part of my training included (for reasons I cannot fathom) learning how computers work, in detail. We had as our training device a computer made of transistors and magnetic memory. they did make use of a few microchips, but just the ones that were logic gates or other minor functions. None had more than 14 pins, except the 16 pin ones.

From this, I learned that a computer is nothing more than a very complicated light switch.

Take a light switch. You turn it on, the light comes on. You turn it off, the light turns off. A transistor is the same thing, but the switch is electronic instead of physical. You could literally make a computer out of light switches if you were masochistic enough. Naturally, it would be excrutiatingly slow, and would require you to do everything, whereas a transistor can sort of switch itself.

Generally, a switch gets flipped for a certain input. A transistor does the same thing, but it doesn't require YOU to stop and think if the input should cause the switch to trip or not, it does it pretty quick.