• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Ring Systems

jfetters

SOC-14 1K
Question for all the hardcore astronomers/astrophysicists out there (I'm looing at you Mal..
):

What do we know of the density of planetary rings? Are they so dense that if a ship were to go through it, it would result in extensive damage? Or are the peices far enough apart that a decent astrographer could plot a course through?

I know Saturn has "spokes" and "gaps" but in general when you get in close, what is the story (if there is one)? From the distances we have pictures, it appears relatively solid, but that's from a pretty far distance.

Kind of a silly question, I know, but it's just something that popped into my head.

I'm not an expert but I'd say even if its generally okay there could be a problem with things 'hiding' in the rings. Check out SPACE.com for more info. However, if using MT then a densitometer scan should help avoid these.

Regards PLST

I´m not an astronomer, but I´ve had the pleasure of seeing some of the pictures taken by the Cassini probe this January, as well as hearing the leader of the picture taking team (I don´t remember the official title) tell stories about it.

As I recall, the rings are very thin (IIRC a couple of kilometers) and consist of relatively small objects. So in order to look as solid as they do, they would probably have to be fairly dense. Of course, "fairly dense" is a relative term in astronomy ;) . OTOH I guess since the rings are thought to be made up mostly of ice (which is why they are so shiny), not rock, I guess a ship could very well survive passing through them if it doesn´t go too fast.