• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.
  • We, the systems administration staff, apologize for this unexpected outage of the boards. We have resolved the root cause of the problem and there should be no further disruptions.

Psionics

Can anyone give me a better explanation of Teleportation than the example on page 531?

Some of the numbers used seem to come from nowhere and aren't in the Task Formula.
 
Bin Lagash

I'll try to decode what Bin Lagash is doing.

In order to teleport, he needs to roll Range < Constant + Remote - Size.

"Range" is the distance to the target, in dice. He's teleporting a Snowcat from Range 1, so the task difficulty is 1D.

I think "Constant + Remote" is PSI + Remote, or 9 + 8, or 17.

Size is apparent size, which ought to be the Snowcat's size 3, minus its range, 1, or (3-1)... or perhaps -1 + 3.

I don't know where the +1 mod is coming from...

The -5 is the target range (R=5) to where Lagash teleports the Snowcat.


Ank Lagash

Now what I don't get is how Ank rolls 2D on his stutterport task, when he is touching the rock he's teleporting -- range is 0, which defaults to a 1D task, not 2D, right?
 
I pretty much agree with what you found.

I don't' know where the +1 came from, and I'm not sure why you have an additional range penalty for the destination when you already have to roll 5D for the destination range.

Bin Lagash must be one hell of a lucky guy to get a 6 using 5D.

And I noticed that on the Stutterport too. I think that he rolls 2D because he's Teleporting the rock in 50 meter (Range 2) increments. But shouldn't he start out with Constant (18) + Direct (9) for a total of 27 ?
 
Last edited:
I don't' know where the +1 came from, and I'm not sure why you have an additional range penalty for the destination when you already have to roll 5D for the destination range.
Yeah, that's in all the ranged rules, like senses/sensors, space and personal combat, etc. I don't get it either. :confused:
 
I haven't found another example that adds an additional penalty for Range beyond increasing the number of Dice rolled.

I wonder if the example isn't a mistake or uses a previous game mechanic?
 
Back
Top