LiminalMask
SOC-12
It is possible to generate negative numbers when rolling up a system's UWP. You can also end up with number greater than the normal range. For example, according to Mongoose rules, Government is generated by rolling 2d6-7, then adding the planet's population. You could conceivably roll a 2 and have a population of 1, thus 2-7+1=-4.
Obviously, you would set Government as 0 for this world, ultimately. But here's my question.
Another digit, Law Level, depends on Government. (2d6-7+Government.)
So, when you calculate Law Level, should you use the *unadjusted* dice roll or should you use the *adjusted* dice roll?
Why should this make a difference? Let's use the example above:
Rolling a 2, having population of 1, generates an unadjusted Government value of -4, or an adjusted value of 0.
Now we roll Law Level, which calls for 2d6-7 + Government. If we roll a 12, we have two choices:
Unadjusted (12-7-4): Law Level of 1.
Adjusted: (12-7-0): Law level of 5.
This is particularly of interest if you're trying to build a spreadsheet that calculates UWP.
Is there an official rule on this?
Obviously, you would set Government as 0 for this world, ultimately. But here's my question.
Another digit, Law Level, depends on Government. (2d6-7+Government.)
So, when you calculate Law Level, should you use the *unadjusted* dice roll or should you use the *adjusted* dice roll?
Why should this make a difference? Let's use the example above:
Rolling a 2, having population of 1, generates an unadjusted Government value of -4, or an adjusted value of 0.
Now we roll Law Level, which calls for 2d6-7 + Government. If we roll a 12, we have two choices:
Unadjusted (12-7-4): Law Level of 1.
Adjusted: (12-7-0): Law level of 5.
This is particularly of interest if you're trying to build a spreadsheet that calculates UWP.
Is there an official rule on this?
Last edited: