• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

LASER HUMMER IN IRAQ

Beat me to it. I hear they are thiunkng about using it to protect convoys from IEDs, but since they're mostly buried or in cars...

I've been hearing rumors about these soliud-state laser for about five years. Nice to see they're not vaporwear.

This means the Airborn Laser either is or soon will be operational. Explains how we can be patient about North Korea.

I don't think you could use a zeus-type laser to protect from IEDs -- it can't detonate an explosive without (a) locating it, and (b) focusing energy on it for at least a moderate period. If you can accomplish those two things, the IED isn't much of a threat anyway.

Originally posted by Anthony:
I don't think you could use a zeus-type laser to protect from IEDs -- it can't detonate an explosive without (a) locating it, and (b) focusing energy on it for at least a moderate period. If you can accomplish those two things, the IED isn't much of a threat anyway.
The other problem is avoid hitting the gas tank on a plain old car (assuming the LASER penetrating the vehicle's body), and sending some innocent driver to kingdom come.

Movies notwithstanding, gas tanks do not blow up particularly easily.

However, a 10 kW Nd:YAG laser is certainly hazardous for lots of reasons (it would be prone to blinding people, not only directly, but though indirect scatter and reflections), though not obviously more dangerous than simply opening up with a machinegun.