• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

IMTU... Outside Influences

Howdy. I am relatively new to this whole 'Traveller' thing. At least in terms of learning about how big a deal its been for the last thirty years. Long story short: after a painful ebay raid I am preparing to put together a TNE campaign for my players and I was reflecting on my influences.

Now I've noticed that there is a lot of IMTU shorthand out there for things like technological devices and whatnot but I like my sci-fi like I like my ice cream: soft. Further I am very curious what novels, films, tv series, etc, have colored your own Traveller campaigns in terms of mood, themes or even plots.

In my case my current influences for this tentative stage in campaign planning are as follows:

The new Battlestar Galactica series- a good series to give my players a sense of what the collapse could have been like and I love their whole illogical machine life thing. It will color my uses of Virus.

Blake 7- Mostly plot. I think I'm going to steal the first three episodes to set my players up on a relatively benevolent, or at least not hostile, Virus ship. Possibly a componant of someone's jump start cache.

To a lesser extent Farscape will also influence me as I think I want a largely episodic campaign (haven't had one since jr. high school) and want create a fun atmosphere while stressing the importance of the PC's keeping their heads down.

Anyways, these are my current influences, I was wondering what Influenced your traveller universe?

Firefly (The setting is just TNE!) and Babylon 5 (The intrigues and interesting characters).
Also Deep Space 9 has some elements I nicked. Such as some cultures encountered.

Gotta take a look at the new Battlestar series if I ever get the chance. Hard to get hold of in Scandinavia.