• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Getting Started in the T20 Universe

Greetings all

I'm new here and looking for some help. I am also new to the T20 system and am hoping to find some answers here.

I have been asked to referee a T20 campaign by my group of gamers and so am reading up on the T20 core rule book. This is the only real experience I have with the "Traveller Mythos" and have a couple of basic questions regarding the book.

1. When refering to the "Imperium" exactly what kind of territory are we generally referring to, i.e. is the entire galactic disk colonized ala Foundation? Is the Imerperium only several joined sectors of the disk ala United Fereration of Planets owning only the Alpha and Bata sectors?

2. What and where is the "gateway" sector?

3.Likewise, the "core"worlds. Are we referring to the founding worlds or those located near the galactic center?

I know that I could simply answer these questions in my own fashion and set up my own senerio but I would like to at least try and referance the general "Traveller Mythos" as some of my players have played the eariler eitions of the game.

Any help would be appreciated!

Lord Dafydd

Welcome aboard, Your Lordship. Welcome to Traveller, and to T20.

As to answering your questions:

1. Only several joined sectors of the disk. In fact, IIRC, the entire Traveller universe is on only one small portion of one spiral arm of the galactic disk.

2. Gateway Sector is along the trailing edge of Imperium.

3. The Imperial core worlds are the founding systems near the center of the Imperium. IIRC, no one has reached the galactic core yet, although the Zhodani (who are the closest of the major races) have mounted several expeditions.

Hope that helps.

As to how big chartered space is and where everything is here is a link to one of my favorite Traveller sites