• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Frieghters

I'm no expert on ship building for Traveller. I was wondering how you would handle building ships with external storage, such as these two:
ft-338a.jpg
http://www.gtns.co.uk/store1/html/images/ft-338a.jpg

ft-332.jpg
http://www.gtns.co.uk/store1/html/images/ft-332.jpg

Especially being modular...

I've handled it by treating each of the cargo bays as ships and putting external docking on the freighter for each of them.

See this design as an example (T20 stats)

I would say it depends on the rule edition and ship construction. Two examples:

Book 2 Classic Traveller you would just need to count the tonnage of the modules as part of the hull total. For example buy a 400ton hull and declare 200tons of it as modular containers. No extra volume or cost.

Book 5 Classic Traveller you should probably calculate them as seperate hulls for cost and lost volume, as well as the launch/recovery of the containers.

The topic has come up before and you should find some of the threads by searching for "lighter" and "lash" on the boards.

Thanks, far-trader! I found a great thread discussing just what I needed!

I had never heard the term LASH, so I probably never would have found it on my own.

Again, much obliged.

B

Alright.

Dumb question time.

I skimmed through all of the lash designs, and I am at a loss.

Why does the jump tug need to waste space carrying engines and fuel for the lighters?

Replace them with a standardized cargo box. One face mounts to the Jump tug frame.

The other face mounts to a Sunlight tug frame that hauls it away and maneuvers the replacement into place.

Now, make the jump frame massive so it carries hundreds or even thousands of those lash boxes.