• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Finding new things in Traveller

GM Joe

SOC-12
Peer of the Realm
It's funny. I started playing Traveller back when the "Starter Edition" came out. My friend was the referee for a couple of games but wasn't really into it, so I took over that responsibility and something clicked and it just took off. We played the heck out of Traveller.

But we were pretty young. Maybe 13 or so when we started playing Traveller (we'd already been through D&D, AD&D, Gamma World, Boot Hill, and a few others).

Of course I continued refereeing over the years, off and on. Used some of the newer versions as they came out, but always returned to CT. And of course played plenty of other RPGs...but always returned to CT.
Anyway, I took the last 10 years or so off from RPGs entirely. That sounds negative. It wasn't like I was sick of RPGs. I just had other priorities for a while, as happens sometimes. :)

Now that I've picked up CT again, it's funny that I'm seeing stuff in there that I was certain wasn't in the core rules. Like...default skills. And Battle Dress. Why did I think that came in with Book 4?

Granted, I've only pulled out TTB, so maybe it wasn't in the LBBs. Everything's stored away where it's not simple to reach, so I haven't pulled everything down yet. (I did order the four CT CD-ROMs from FFE a couple of days ago, though. I'm looking forward to having all that on PDF (tho I'll miss the DGP stuff)).

Anyway, am I the only one? Or have you re-read any old Traveller material and found something that you hadn't realized was there?

I learn about things in CT pretty regularly. Just a couple years ago Wil brought up the fact that the Smallcraft skill description has in it a miniature space combat game, ready to play. I was amazed.

Actually, I just came across something in CT under trade.