• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.
  • We, the systems administration staff, apologize for this unexpected outage of the boards. We have resolved the root cause of the problem and there should be no further disruptions.

Satellite Orbits

So, the more I roll systems up and come across the rules for satellites, the more I start to wonder if I'm reading it correctly and/or whether or not this is errata.

The segment in question:
CT Book 6: Scouts said:
Throw 2D for orbit type (7- is close; 8+ is far); apply a DM to each throw after the first equal to the throw number minus 1. Thus, the first throw is without a DM, the second has a DM - 1, the third has a DM - 2, etc. If the planet is a gas giant, then 12+ calls for use of the extreme column of the table.

The part that throws me most is the "12+". Throwing 2D6, the maximum you can roll is a 12, never more, and the DMs actually bring this maximum down with each iteration. Also, this results in all satellites generated beginning with the 6th iteration automatically being in 'close' orbits.

The edition I'm using is one of the FFE reprints, (c) 2000. Is this correct, or am I looking at errata and/or a misreading?

-asp
 
Oh, thanks. Somehow I missed that post when looking into it; must've gone searching before you posted it, as I've wondered for a while, now.

-asp
 
Back
Top