Traveller Store CotI Features New Posts Mark Forums Read Register


Go Back TravellerRPG.com > Citizens of the Imperium > Cepheus Engine > Clement Sector

Clement Sector Discussion area for Clement Sector and other publications of Gypsy Knight Games for CE & Traveller.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 16th, 2017, 02:27 AM
Gardensnake Gardensnake is offline
Citizen: SOC-6
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 18
Gallery : 0
Gardensnake Citizen
Default Initiative question

I've got a rule question. I was reading over the rules again and came across something I had overlooked previously. A character can add their Tactics(Military) skill to their initiative roll per page 77 and then on pg. 80 under Battlefield Comms it says that a character not in communication with the rest of the unit and commander can't benefit from Tactics(Military) nor Leadership. Does this apply to characters that have Tactics(Military) themselves or only the characters that do not have the skill and were relying on the leader for the initiative modifier?

William
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 16th, 2017, 06:17 AM
egor045 egor045 is offline
Citizen: SOC-9
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Dublin
Posts: 42
Gallery : 0
egor045 Citizen
Default

I don't have a copy of the Clement Sector rules, but here's what the SRD says:

"Characters that have the Tactics skill may make a Tactics check and add the Effect of this check to the Initiative of everyone in their unit with whom they are in direct communication".

So my read on this is a character who is not in communication with the rest of their unit can benefit from their own Tactics expertise, but don't get any benefit from other Tactics skills in the unit.

Arthur
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 16th, 2017, 07:23 AM
Gypsy Knights Games's Avatar
Gypsy Knights Games Gypsy Knights Games is offline
Baron
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ringgold
Posts: 835
Gallery : 0
Gypsy Knights Games Citizen+Gypsy Knights Games Citizen+Gypsy Knights Games Citizen+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gardensnake View Post
I've got a rule question. I was reading over the rules again and came across something I had overlooked previously. A character can add their Tactics(Military) skill to their initiative roll per page 77 and then on pg. 80 under Battlefield Comms it says that a character not in communication with the rest of the unit and commander can't benefit from Tactics(Military) nor Leadership. Does this apply to characters that have Tactics(Military) themselves or only the characters that do not have the skill and were relying on the leader for the initiative modifier?

William
It would apply only to those who do not have the skill and were relying on the leader for the modifier.
__________________
John Watts
Owner/President

Gypsy Knights Games: Home of the Clement Sector setting.

Our website.

On Twitter @GKGames , Google + as Gypsy Knights Games and Facebook as GypsyKnights Games
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MGT Only: Initiative penalties Adam Dray Mongoose Traveller 2 October 13th, 2014 11:29 AM
Initiative! Pyromancer Mongoose Traveller 2 November 4th, 2008 08:23 AM
INITIATIVE doubt ... rsitalyct Classic Traveller 6 June 10th, 2007 06:08 PM
Initiative Supplement Four Classic Traveller 5 June 13th, 2006 03:43 AM
Initiative in CT Melkor Classic Traveller 13 January 28th, 2006 06:51 AM

This website and its contents are copyright ©2010-2013 Far Future Enterprises. All rights reserved. Traveller is a registered trademark of Far Future Enterprises .
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 2010-2013, Far Future Enterprises. All Rights Reserved.