Traveller Store CotI Features New Posts Mark Forums Read Register


Go Back TravellerRPG.com > Citizens of the Imperium > Other Versions of Traveller > Mongoose Traveller

Mongoose Traveller Discussion forums for the Traveller rules from Mongoose Publishing.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 3rd, 2018, 03:48 AM
StanTheMan StanTheMan is offline
Citizen: SOC-12
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Budapest
Posts: 228
Gallery : 0
StanTheMan Citizen
Default [MgT2e] Is the Commission roll in lieu of the Advancement roll?

I thought this would be more common but couldn't find it in search. Anyway, when rolling on military careers, is the Commission roll done in lieu of the Advancement roll, or, if one, say, fails Commission, do they then roll for Advancement, or they only get one such roll per term? It sort of isn't clear. I do understand that there is no Advancement roll after receiving a Commission (so, no jumping two rank levels in one term).

Thoughts? Or did I just misread something?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 3rd, 2018, 06:21 AM
AnotherDilbert AnotherDilbert is online now
Citizen: SOC-14
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Stockholm 🇸🇪
Posts: 1,663
Gallery : 0
AnotherDilbert Citizen+AnotherDilbert Citizen+AnotherDilbert Citizen+
Default

The text on pp16-17 says you always roll for Advancement, the flowchart on p10 says you don't roll for Advancement if you roll for Commission, as I suspect you have noticed.

I guess it's up to the Referee.

I always roll for Advancement since the Advancement roll is also the "up-or-out" and "mandatory reenlistment" roll.


Edit:
Clarified by errata:
Quote:
Originally Posted by msprange
3. Pg 16. Can you attempt advancement if you fail a Commission role.

* You can.
http://forum.mongoosepublishing.com/...924948#p924948
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 3rd, 2018, 10:03 AM
StanTheMan StanTheMan is offline
Citizen: SOC-12
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Budapest
Posts: 228
Gallery : 0
StanTheMan Citizen
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDilbert View Post
The text on pp16-17 says you always roll for Advancement, the flowchart on p10 says you don't roll for Advancement if you roll for Commission, as I suspect you have noticed.

I guess it's up to the Referee.

I always roll for Advancement since the Advancement roll is also the "up-or-out" and "mandatory reenlistment" roll.


Edit:
Clarified by errata:


http://forum.mongoosepublishing.com/...924948#p924948
Yep, I should have been more clear. Hence the confusion. However, Matt's answer is the answer, so, that's clear. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2d6 roll high vs. Xd6 roll low vs. other KDLadage TAS Opinion Polls 54 May 3rd, 2015 09:44 AM
Looking for a combat roll example Shonner Traveller: The New Era 8 June 3rd, 2013 04:23 PM
SpaceShipTwo Roll Out Andrew Boulton Random Static 49 December 20th, 2009 11:45 AM
Let's roll some CT characters... far-trader Random Static 11 April 30th, 2008 11:27 PM
Cargo Roll rlvargas T20 - Traveller for the D20 System 5 February 7th, 2003 11:55 PM

This website and its contents are copyright ©2010- Far Future Enterprises. All rights reserved. Traveller is a registered trademark of Far Future Enterprises .
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 2010-2013, Far Future Enterprises. All Rights Reserved.