Traveller Store CotI Features New Posts Mark Forums Read Register


Go Back TravellerRPG.com > Citizens of the Imperium > Other Versions of Traveller > Mongoose Traveller

Mongoose Traveller Discussion forums for the Traveller rules from Mongoose Publishing.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 4th, 2016, 01:38 PM
mentor mentor is offline
Citizen: SOC-1
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Gallery : 0
mentor Citizen
Default MgT2 Newbie player questions

Hello, i am a complete newbie in Traveller, i got the MgT2 Core rulebook and i need some help.

When a character leaves a career and enters it again in another term after the next one he/she left it(MgT2 Core rulebook pg.18), at what rank he continues that career? does he have to roll for qualification again?what about a character with a pension from a career? can he enter it again?

Thank you in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 4th, 2016, 03:39 PM
robject's Avatar
robject robject is offline
Marquis
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 13,862
Gallery : 9
Visit robject's Blog
robject has disabled reputation
Default

I would say that the character picks up from where they left off. For sanity's sake, I would say that the pension depends on total terms in that service.
__________________
Imperiallines magazine
My Helpful Stuff for Traveller5
IMTU tc+ t5++ 3i(+) au ls+ / OTU 44% an+ dt+ ge- j- jf+ n- pi+ pp+ tr+ tv- uwp+ xb+
Tools Link
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 4th, 2016, 07:31 PM
DickNervous's Avatar
DickNervous DickNervous is offline
Baron
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Levittown NY
Posts: 488
Gallery : 3
Visit DickNervous's Blog
DickNervous Citizen+DickNervous Citizen+
Default

Generating characters can be a little confusing for people unfamiliar with the system. For the each term in any career you need to do the following (assuming you make the rolls):

1. Roll Enlistment (first term only)
2. Pick Specialty (this you can change but see notes below)
3. Roll for a skill (if first term, get basic training)
4. Roll for Survival
5. Roll for Event
6. Roll for Advancement (either Commission or Promotion depending upon carer)

If you continue in the same career/specialty then for the 2nd term you simply start at step 3.

If you want to change the Specialty and are in the Army, Marine, Navy, Nobility, Rogue, Scholar, or Scout career you will need to make the enlistment roll again. If you fail, you simply stay in the specialty that you are in.

If you want to change the specialty in the Agent, Citizen, Entertainer, or Merchant careers then it is considered a new career and if you fail the enlistment roll you either submit to the draft or become a Drifter.

No matter what you choose, you never lose any ranks that you have acquired.
__________________
]
DickNervous aka Rich Neves
Viscount of Equus - SPIN 2417 Equus B55A858-B
Baron of Ishala - VLAN 2113 Ishala C866651-9
Baron of Enaaka - DENE 0203 Enaaka B777786-6
Knight of Deneb - SPIN 1721 ARBA C200200-C
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 5th, 2016, 12:18 AM
CosmicGamer's Avatar
CosmicGamer CosmicGamer is offline
Citizen: SOC-14
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Dover, DE, USA
Posts: 2,209
Gallery : 16
CosmicGamer Citizen
Default

Just to throw some thoughts around... Note that these are based on the play test. I have not gotten the final version yet.

Rank
It's bad enough that you can be a Captain in the Army after 12 years serving as a support medic and with a skill level 2 you have to start out as a rank 0 physician in your scholarly post military career. I say let someone who leaves but later gets drafted back into the Army retain their commission and rank. I'm sure players would want this for their characters, there is some real life logic to it, and the rules don't say it isn't allowed across the board. Keep in mind that there are some rules that specifically prohibit rank carryover for certain careers such as leaving Entertainer journalist and going back later as an Entertainer artist. See the changing assignments section.

Qual
I tell company Xray to take this job and shove it or I'm let go. Several years go by and I decide to go back to company Xray... Or, I'm working on a cruise ship as a steward and later in life I try to go work for another cruise ship as a steward... In most cases one needs to "qual" for a job even if it is the same field or even the same company.

Anyways, based on the rules, I don't recall anything that indicates you can skip qualification due to reentering a career. Maybe it's your first time, maybe it's your second, maybe it's your third... but to me you are still trying to enter the career and need to qual.

Pension
Mongoose has said that some rules are left vague on purpose. They want people to interpret things on their own and play the way they want. I don't believe the rules indicate if the terms need to be consecutive. So go ahead and add all the term up for the pension if that's what you'd like or do what makes sense to you and your play group.

This does bring up something I never thought of. Technically if a character "retires" from a career but continues chargen, they could be earning that pension during chargen.

Last edited by CosmicGamer; February 5th, 2016 at 12:47 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 5th, 2016, 01:05 AM
DickNervous's Avatar
DickNervous DickNervous is offline
Baron
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Levittown NY
Posts: 488
Gallery : 3
Visit DickNervous's Blog
DickNervous Citizen+DickNervous Citizen+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CosmicGamer View Post
Anyways, based on the rules, I don't recall anything that indicates you can skip qualification due to reentering a career. Maybe it's your first time, maybe it's your second, maybe it's your third... but to me you are still trying to enter the career and need to qual.
If you leave a career, do something else, and come back you have to re-qualify. The only thing they changed along those lines is that you don't have to re-enlist to stay in the same career.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CosmicGamer View Post
Pension
Mongoose has said that some rules are left vague on purpose. They want people to interpret things on their own and play the way they want. I don't believe the rules indicate if the terms need to be consecutive. So go ahead and add all the term up for the pension if that's what you'd like or do what makes sense to you and your play group.

This does bring up something I never thought of. Technically if a character "retires" from a career but continues chargen, they could be earning that pension during chargen.
Pension is simply based on terms in a career. There is no difference based on which career it is, so you just add up the terms in a career that qualifies for a pension and get your number.

And yes, it would seem correct that if you spend enough terms to earn a pension in one career and switch to another, you should get that pension. The rules state (pg 46)

Quote:
A Traveller that leaves a career (other than Scout,
Rogue, Prisoner or Drifter) after at least 5 terms is
considered to have retired and receives a pension. This
pension is paid at the beginning of each year, effective
upon leaving the service, and may be collected at any
class A or B starport.
So yes, serve 5 terms in the Army then move on to something else for 2 terms, you would have accumulated 8 years of pension, in this case at 10k/yr.

And one thing I forgot to add to my list above, is the "Connections Rule". During chargen (as a group) two characters can "share" an event to make a connection between them. If they do they each get a free skill of their choice (except Jack-of-all-Trades) as long as it doesn't raise the skill above a 3. You can do this twice with two different characters.
__________________
]
DickNervous aka Rich Neves
Viscount of Equus - SPIN 2417 Equus B55A858-B
Baron of Ishala - VLAN 2113 Ishala C866651-9
Baron of Enaaka - DENE 0203 Enaaka B777786-6
Knight of Deneb - SPIN 1721 ARBA C200200-C
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 5th, 2016, 10:13 AM
robject's Avatar
robject robject is offline
Marquis
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 13,862
Gallery : 9
Visit robject's Blog
robject has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CosmicGamer View Post
Pension
Mongoose has said that some rules are left vague on purpose. They want people to interpret things on their own and play the way they want.
Hmmmmmmmmm. Okay. I find that troubling, but I guess that means I just crack open Traveller5 when I want to use pension rules.

...gotta get Marc to finish up errata...
__________________
Imperiallines magazine
My Helpful Stuff for Traveller5
IMTU tc+ t5++ 3i(+) au ls+ / OTU 44% an+ dt+ ge- j- jf+ n- pi+ pp+ tr+ tv- uwp+ xb+
Tools Link
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 5th, 2016, 01:53 PM
mentor mentor is offline
Citizen: SOC-1
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Gallery : 0
mentor Citizen
Talking

First of all thank you for your quick and helpful responses!!!
I need some extra clarifications:

If for example i qualify for the Army, get 3 full terms there reaching the rank of Corporal(2) then leave the career for any reason, spend 2 terms in the Citizen career reaching rank 1 then i can try again to qualify for the Army and if i succeed i can enter it at the Corporal rank and have another term there and then start adventuring?

What about benefits? i roll them when i finish character creation? so i have acquired 3 benefits from Army for three full terms there(1st time) , and also an extra benefit roll from reaching rank 2, and another benefit from my last term and i roll them on the Army Benefits/Cash tables?
And also 2 benefits rolls from my Citizen two terms and 1 extra for reaching rank 1 and Roll them on the Citizen tables, right?

I am also confused in the cash rolls, i choose either benefit or cash on my above rolls but with maximum 3 rolls for cash on the corresponding tables?

And also confused in the last term before you start adventuring, i have read elsewhere that it doesn't count as a full term for benefits is that right?

Sorry for my full auto question rate, i am already in love with this system and i want to start right in it!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 5th, 2016, 03:46 PM
robject's Avatar
robject robject is offline
Marquis
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 13,862
Gallery : 9
Visit robject's Blog
robject has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mentor View Post
If for example i qualify for the Army, get 3 full terms there reaching the rank of Corporal(2) then leave the career for any reason, spend 2 terms in the Citizen career reaching rank 1 then i can try again to qualify for the Army and if i succeed i can enter it at the Corporal rank and have another term there and then start adventuring?
That sounds right to me. As long as your referee is fine with that.

Quote:
What about benefits?
I'd roll them every time I mustered out from a career. So when you re-enter the Army then muster out, only roll benefits for the terms racked up that time around.

Quote:
I am also confused in the cash rolls, i choose either benefit or cash on my above rolls but with maximum 3 rolls for cash on the corresponding tables?
Right. You can't make more than 3 rolls on the cash table. I think that's the total from each career, but it might be across ALL careers. That might be a call for your referee to make. To play it safe, stick to a max of 3 cash rolls across all careers. (Besides, cash isn't that valuable in Traveller.)

Quote:
And also confused in the last term before you start adventuring, i have read elsewhere that it doesn't count as a full term for benefits is that right?
I've never seen that rule before.
__________________
Imperiallines magazine
My Helpful Stuff for Traveller5
IMTU tc+ t5++ 3i(+) au ls+ / OTU 44% an+ dt+ ge- j- jf+ n- pi+ pp+ tr+ tv- uwp+ xb+
Tools Link
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 5th, 2016, 04:00 PM
ovka's Avatar
ovka ovka is offline
Citizen: SOC-12
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 455
Gallery : 2
ovka Citizen+ovka Citizen+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robject View Post
Quote:
And also confused in the last term before you start adventuring, I have read elsewhere that it doesn't count as a full term for benefits is that right?
I've never seen that rule before.
Perhaps what you've read about is a term shortened by injury?

Cheers,

Baron Ovka
__________________
Baron of Ziirkago - VLAN 1930 A878654-C
SEH with Diamonds for extreme heroism in the final victory at Emerald - SPIN 1006 B766555-B
Currently touring sectors spinward of my estate
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 5th, 2016, 04:18 PM
whulorigan's Avatar
whulorigan whulorigan is online now
Count
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 2,577
Gallery : 0
Visit whulorigan's Blog
whulorigan Citizen++whulorigan Citizen++whulorigan Citizen++whulorigan Citizen++whulorigan Citizen++
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mentor View Post
And also confused in the last term before you start adventuring, i have read elsewhere that it doesn't count as a full term for benefits is that right?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovka View Post
Perhaps what you've read about is a term shortened by injury?

As Ovka alluded to, if a character is forced to leave a career early (i.e. he doesn't complete his term due to injury or other mishap or is otherwise ejected form the career, and doesn't complete the full 4 year term as a result), then he is ineligible for mustering out benefits for that particular term.
__________________
.



WHULorigan (Wayne)

Lord Richard Elruinn Ilendrick Rhovanion of Rhylanor
Count RhovanionSPIN 2716 Rhylanor A434934-FSir Richard, Knight (Kt)SPIN 2716 Rhylanor A434934-F
MarquisSPIN 0433 Jone B792785-9Sir Richard Elruinn, Knight (Kt)FORN 0727 Dirli C994422-8
Baronet of Jae TellonaSPIN 2814 Jae Tellona A560565-8Knight of Deneb (KD)SPIN 2814 Jae Tellona A560565-8
Baron of the Third ImperiumSPIN 3220 Powaza C787566-5Knight of the Third Imperium (KTI)SPIN 3235 Trin A894A96-F
Knight of the Iridium Throne (KIT)CORE 2419 Sevan A544576-A
Richard Elruinn Rhovanion (TAS Member #0008)SPIN 2716 Rhylanor A434934-F

Other Awards
:
Duke of the Third ImperiumREAV 3209 Kylian BA57742-A
Duke of KhouthCORR 0104 Khouth A8C3999-D
Viscount of AlellSPIN 1706 Alell B56789CA
Baron of ImlaarDENE 2212 Imlaar D677551-6SEH - For Extreme Heroism @ The Battle of Ruby
Baroness of NorthammonDENE 0921 Northammon B764667-AMCGx2 - For Conspicuous Gallantry @ The Assaults on Dinomn & Denotam

Link: Traveller5 Noble Patents Registry
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie Questions Thanos Mongoose Traveller 24 December 1st, 2011 09:11 AM
Newbie questions Bill54fish The Lone Star 3 July 31st, 2007 06:48 AM
Newbie, T4 Questions Harshax T4 - Marc Miller's Traveller 7 October 22nd, 2004 03:58 PM
newbie questions jrients The Lone Star 2 May 21st, 2003 02:17 PM
Newbie Questions cerebrolator T20 - Traveller for the D20 System 7 February 6th, 2003 11:55 PM

This website and its contents are copyright ©2010- Far Future Enterprises. All rights reserved. Traveller is a registered trademark of Far Future Enterprises .
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 2010-2013, Far Future Enterprises. All Rights Reserved.