Traveller Store CotI Features New Posts Mark Forums Read Register


Go Back TravellerRPG.com > Citizens of the Imperium > Other Versions of Traveller > Traveller Wargames

Traveller Wargames Discussion of the various Traveller wargames and miniatures systems.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 20th, 2010, 06:28 PM
whartung whartung is offline
Citizen: SOC-14
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,529
Gallery : 0
whartung Citizen+whartung Citizen+whartung Citizen+
Default Battle Rider and Brilliant Lances Jump Rules

I can't seem to find any reference to Jumping during play in either BR or BL. Am I missing something? Does anyone have a reference to the procedure of jumping while engaged in BR or BL? TNE itself has not actual mechanic for Jump, other than it happens and there's a task roll associated with it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 21st, 2010, 12:16 AM
Zparkz Zparkz is offline
Citizen: SOC-12
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 399
Gallery : 2
Zparkz Citizen
Send a message via ICQ to Zparkz Send a message via MSN to Zparkz
Default

I don't think any of the rules edition mentions how long it takes to set up a jump either by calculating the coords and charging/preparing the jumpdrive. SOpM may hold some rules.
__________________
Roger 'Starwolf' Malmstein
Traveller Freeport
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 21st, 2010, 09:55 AM
Starviking's Avatar
Starviking Starviking is offline
Citizen: SOC-13
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Japan (ex Ulsta)
Posts: 771
Gallery : 1
Starviking Citizen
Default

Here's the rules that seem to pertain in BL and BR:

BL page 24 - "Jump Drive: If destroyed, the ship may not enter jumpspace. If not destroyed, find the percentage of hit boxes that have been marked off. Multiply the ship's standard jump performance by this number and round fractions down. This is the current jump performance number."

BL page 25 - "Bridge Destroyed: ...The ship is no longer capable of manoeuvring, entering jump,..."

BL page 30 , Scenario 1, Deep Black - "Winning: The Zhodani player wins...To get the information back, the ship must either exit the map at either end (but not the sides) with functional jump drive, or it must communicate the information to another Zhodani ship which then exits the map at either end with functional jump drive.

BL page 30, Scenario 2, Rearguard - "Winning: ...In either case, the Zhodani player must do so before the end of the 20th turn, or Bard Refuge will have had time to reach its jump point and escape.

There are other references to exiting the board and being capable of jumping in Scenario 4: Corsair!, Scenario 6: Smash and Grab, and Scenario 7: Cold Recovery.

As for Battle Rider, the 'Other Considerations' section on page 15 covers jumping in the "exiting the map" sub-section. It's the same general idea as expressed in the BL Scenarios - but with explanation as to the abstraction of having to exit from the ends of the map, not the sides.

Hope that helps.
__________________
http://yea-mon.livejournal.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 21st, 2010, 11:29 AM
whartung whartung is offline
Citizen: SOC-14
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,529
Gallery : 0
whartung Citizen+whartung Citizen+whartung Citizen+
Default

Yea, sounds like they completely hand-waved away the idea of jump operations in combat.

Thanks for the references.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 23rd, 2010, 02:03 PM
Vargas's Avatar
Vargas Vargas is offline
Citizen: SOC-14
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,510
Gallery : 0
Vargas Citizen
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whartung View Post
Yea, sounds like they completely hand-waved away the idea of jump operations in combat.
Because combat is effectively over if you Jump?
__________________
Vargas
Baron Hudson
Dentus/Regina
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 24th, 2010, 02:07 AM
whartung whartung is offline
Citizen: SOC-14
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,529
Gallery : 0
whartung Citizen+whartung Citizen+whartung Citizen+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vargas View Post
Because combat is effectively over if you Jump?
Well, yea, of course, but seems like how long that process takes would be important if you're trying to keep the ship from jumping, eh? If it happens in one turn, fine. If it happens in more than one turn, then not so fine. What if you get a system restart in the middle of jump processing? Does the sequence pause or does it have to be restarted? If the latter, does the failed jump consume any fuel?

When things basically always go well, it's ok to handwave the details. But when it gets down to the nitty gritty and a race to the finish, details are kind of more important.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brilliant Lances & Battle Rider for Sale/Trade SirKerry Duty Free Shop 0 February 28th, 2008 10:41 PM
Brilliant Lances Rules Question ChaserCaffey Traveller Wargames 4 January 28th, 2005 02:11 PM
FS: Brilliant Lances & Battle Rider William Duty Free Shop 0 August 12th, 2004 11:06 AM
Battle Rider vs Brilliant Lances EvilDrGanymede Traveller: The New Era 9 August 11th, 2003 07:54 AM
Brilliant Lances / Battle Rider theSea Traveller: The New Era 5 June 3rd, 2003 08:10 AM

This website and its contents are copyright ©2010- Far Future Enterprises. All rights reserved. Traveller is a registered trademark of Far Future Enterprises .
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 2010-2013, Far Future Enterprises. All Rights Reserved.