Traveller Store CotI Features New Posts Mark Forums Read Register


Go Back TravellerRPG.com > Citizens of the Imperium > General Traveller Discussions > Sylean Academy of Art and Design

Sylean Academy of Art and Design Computer graphics, physical models, and other artistic projects

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old April 23rd, 2013, 01:23 PM
navanod's Avatar
navanod navanod is offline
Citizen: SOC-12
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sioux Falls
Posts: 279
Gallery : 28
navanod Citizen
Default

Yeah, it takes a bit of tinkering, but definitely doable (I think I have Flexify 2). I started with a blank image 2325 x 1100. Once you get your map preset the way you like it, the second button under the axis globle outputs the whole works to a photoshop file with all of the textures as layers (which saves a bunch of time if you're doing several planets). Open up that psd file, hide all of the layers except the 'land color' layer. Duplicate that layer, hide the original, then run Flexify2. Check "Transparent gaps" to get rid of the white background, set input to "Equirectangular", and output to "Icomap". Hit Okay. Then you just need an appropriate hex grid the right size. Here's the one I use (in the gallery, under Maps)

http://www.travellerrpg.com/CotI/Gal...7/1_IcoHex.png

If your document size is set the same as I listed above, paste it into another layer over the icomap. It should fit with a minimum of fuss, but if needed, scale the size up and down. Make sure you set the scaling constraints on, otherwise the hexes will get distorted. Makes it a fairly simple matter to do things like this




If you use the same process with the hex layer on a much larger map, then you can crop down for detail maps that have the right scale hexes without a lot of hassle.

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old April 23rd, 2013, 01:26 PM
Otto Harkaman's Avatar
Otto Harkaman Otto Harkaman is offline
Citizen: SOC-12
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ceres
Posts: 439
Gallery : 1
Otto Harkaman Citizen
Default

Perfect! thanks!!

Hex file fits perfect on top of terrain with your dimensions!

Nice looking map above, and gallery of 3d pictures.
__________________
Asteroid Mining Operations, Sternmetal Horizons, LIC.

Last edited by Otto Harkaman; April 23rd, 2013 at 03:38 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old April 23rd, 2013, 05:06 PM
navanod's Avatar
navanod navanod is offline
Citizen: SOC-12
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sioux Falls
Posts: 279
Gallery : 28
navanod Citizen
Default

Glad you like!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old April 24th, 2013, 03:41 AM
Otto Harkaman's Avatar
Otto Harkaman Otto Harkaman is offline
Citizen: SOC-12
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ceres
Posts: 439
Gallery : 1
Otto Harkaman Citizen
Default

Hmmm well I was able to wrap the mural layer onto a rectangular in Swift 3d and then use the land bump layer, and was able to output to your resolution, somehow able to use your hex grid.

After which I realized I should have used the land color layer and the land bump layer. Of course I couldn't figure out how I was able to get the first part done and so I couldn't get the land color layer to interact with the land bump layer.



full resolution version link



full resolution version link
__________________
Asteroid Mining Operations, Sternmetal Horizons, LIC.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old April 26th, 2013, 12:29 AM
navanod's Avatar
navanod navanod is offline
Citizen: SOC-12
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sioux Falls
Posts: 279
Gallery : 28
navanod Citizen
Default

You're definitely on the right track. It takes some practice, but it gets easier.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old April 26th, 2013, 04:54 AM
Shonner Shonner is offline
Citizen: SOC-14
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,232
Gallery : 0
Shonner Citizen+Shonner Citizen+
Send a message via Skype™ to Shonner
Default

Bryce may be free still so you can give some height to your terrain and add proper sea level to oceans. I use Carrara and Vue (not free), Bryce works the same though.
__________________
April 28th, 2015 was my last day on this forum.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old April 26th, 2013, 10:21 AM
Otto Harkaman's Avatar
Otto Harkaman Otto Harkaman is offline
Citizen: SOC-12
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ceres
Posts: 439
Gallery : 1
Otto Harkaman Citizen
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shonner View Post
Bryce may be free still so you can give some height to your terrain and add proper sea level to oceans. I use Carrara and Vue (not free), Bryce works the same though.
I'll have to check out Bryce this weekend.
__________________
Asteroid Mining Operations, Sternmetal Horizons, LIC.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old April 27th, 2013, 09:08 AM
Otto Harkaman's Avatar
Otto Harkaman Otto Harkaman is offline
Citizen: SOC-12
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ceres
Posts: 439
Gallery : 1
Otto Harkaman Citizen
Default

Playing around a bit more with the Flaming Pear plugin. I turned off clouds in this picture to get a "clean" picture of the surface. I think using the mural layer outputted without clouds will give you a 3d surface.



link to full rez picture
__________________
Asteroid Mining Operations, Sternmetal Horizons, LIC.

Last edited by Otto Harkaman; April 27th, 2013 at 11:33 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old April 27th, 2013, 09:21 AM
Shonner Shonner is offline
Citizen: SOC-14
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,232
Gallery : 0
Shonner Citizen+Shonner Citizen+
Send a message via Skype™ to Shonner
Default

Looks good. I use the heightmap from that plugin (if I do fractal terrains) and render them with star lighting coming from some angle in my 3D apps when I do 3D maps.
__________________
April 28th, 2015 was my last day on this forum.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old April 27th, 2013, 11:32 AM
Otto Harkaman's Avatar
Otto Harkaman Otto Harkaman is offline
Citizen: SOC-12
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ceres
Posts: 439
Gallery : 1
Otto Harkaman Citizen
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shonner View Post
Looks good. I use the heightmap from that plugin (if I do fractal terrains) and render them with star lighting coming from some angle in my 3D apps when I do 3D maps.
Cool Shonner, I would like to try that with Bryce later. I have to watch some videos on the materials interface though, its confusion with all the options.

I have noticed using navanod's suggested image size that I'm not getting any warping in the picture that I was getting from smaller sizes.
__________________
Asteroid Mining Operations, Sternmetal Horizons, LIC.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dandelion image Theophilus Contact! 11 November 6th, 2012 07:47 PM
3D Futuristic Tank Image Needed Darkhstarr The Lone Star 8 February 24th, 2011 12:27 AM
Image Gallery Rules Clarification Maladominus Citizens' Information Centre 17 August 22nd, 2009 03:09 PM
Image to A4 Page? Golan2072 Software Solutions 5 March 21st, 2006 09:34 AM

This website and its contents are copyright ©2010-2013 Far Future Enterprises. All rights reserved. Traveller is a registered trademark of Far Future Enterprises .
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 2010-2013, Far Future Enterprises. All Rights Reserved.