Traveller Store CotI Features New Posts Mark Forums Read Register


Go Back TravellerRPG.com > Citizens of the Imperium > General Traveller Discussions > The Fleet

The Fleet Ship designs, strategies, and tactics.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old June 7th, 2010, 02:47 AM
Hemdian's Avatar
« Hemdian » Hemdian is offline
Count
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,635
Gallery : 0
Visit Hemdian's Blog
Hemdian Citizen+Hemdian Citizen+
Default

Is it possible to squeeze a robotic brain into the probe's design? It might be nice (given that probe recovery is desirable) if the probe isn't automatically lost when communications are blocked. A robotic brain could be instructed to attempt to 'return to base' under such an eventuality.

Actually, I'd be tempted to have a couple of different designs to meet different mission profiles: a cheap basic remote scanner type and a more advanced sample collection droid type. (The latter being an anti-grav propelled robot with a tiny cargo capacity and a light robot arm.)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old June 15th, 2010, 09:01 AM
OjnoTheRed's Avatar
OjnoTheRed OjnoTheRed is offline
Citizen: SOC-13
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 765
Gallery : 17
Visit OjnoTheRed's Blog
OjnoTheRed Citizen+OjnoTheRed Citizen+
Default

Hemdian, your comment is the inspiration for the work behind this thread.

Working from the principles I've been developing there, I've come up with this draft design that I think means I need to re-question my assumptions.

If I include the control panels, it's 250 litres of volume I don't have. If I don't include them, everything fits, with 1 litre left over to pack an initial missile propellant into. I'm also 32kg over weight with the control panels in.

The volume of 17 litres I am trying to get within is the volume of a Traveller missile spelled out in Special Supplement 3 - Missiles. It says the missiles are cylinders with a diameter of 15cm, a length of one metre, and must weigh less than 50kg to fit into standard turret launchers.

A cylinder of 15cm diameter by 1m length works out a 17 litres of volume. And I've just spotted I've left 10 litre volume mass and price for the base hull. Never mind.

I could get around my own assumptions by installing a slave unit instead of a robot brain - but this would mean that if the probe lost contact it would have no initiative and be no more than a remote controlled probe missile.

So I think that, at TL15, a robot controlled probe fitting within a standard missile can't be done on my current assumptions about brain-vehicle interface.

But a slaved missile could be.

A robot probe would need to be larger than a standard missile.

I might take a look at TAC missile design in TNE or Striker to test assumptions again and look for further inspiration.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old June 15th, 2010, 12:17 PM
Hemdian's Avatar
« Hemdian » Hemdian is offline
Count
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,635
Gallery : 0
Visit Hemdian's Blog
Hemdian Citizen+Hemdian Citizen+
Default

I think I would question your assumption on control panels.

In the MT design sequence, control panels are described in terms of how they interact with sophonts. And control panel add-ons, like large holodisplays can be used to replace control panels. So, at least a portion of a control panel would be redundant if a direct linkage could be made. (Such direct linkage was described in JTAS22, for CT. So, perhaps, there should be a “jack-in” control panel add-on added to the MT rules. But I digress.)

If control panels could be split into control circuitry and sophont interface then the control circuitry part would be required even if the missile were computer controlled or remote controlled.

I know this isn’t conclusive but my take on this is that control circuitry is included in the component stats of each component, thus control panels are sophont interface only.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old June 15th, 2010, 07:58 PM
aramis's Avatar
aramis aramis is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK, USofA
Posts: 29,465
Gallery : 56
Visit aramis's Blog
aramis has disabled reputation
Send a message via ICQ to aramis Send a message via AIM to aramis Send a message via Yahoo to aramis
Default

ISTR it's 250cp per point of int. ISTR that's from MTJ.
__________________
~ Aramis
aramis.hostman.us /trav
Smith & Wesson: The Original Point and Click interface!

Archduke of Sylea (CORE 2118)
Duke of the Third Imperium (SPIN 0534)
Count Terra (SOLO 1827)
Count Gorod (REFT 1302)
Count of the Third Imperium (SPIN 2232)
Viscount of Adabicci (SPIN 1824)
Marquis of the Solomani Rim (SOLO 0606)
Marquis of the Third Imperium (SPIN 2410)
Baron of the Third Imperium (SPIN 2231)
Knight of the Iridium Throne (CORE 1434)
Sir William Hostman (OLDE 0512)
Sir William Hostman (DAGU 0622)
Knight of Deneb (REFT 2239)
Knight of Deneb (Spin 2532)
SEH w/Diamonds for Extreme Heroism - Battle of Boughene
MCG - Battle of Boughene
TAS: William Hostman (CORR 2506)
TAS: Bearer (DAIB 1326)
IMTU ct+ tm++ tne tg-- tt+ tmo+ t4- t20+ to ru+ ge+ 3i+ c+ jt au ls pi+ ta he+ st+
Wil Hostman 0602 C539857-9 S A724
OTU: 95% 3i an+ au+ br- cpu± dt± f+ fs++ ge± ih- inf± j± jf+ jm+ jt+ ls- n= nc+ pi+ pp-- tp+ tr+ tv- vi-- xb+-
Unless there is bold red text, presume my posts to be my personal material only.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old June 15th, 2010, 08:25 PM
shadowdragon's Avatar
shadowdragon shadowdragon is online now
Citizen: SOC-12
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 352
Gallery : 0
shadowdragon Citizen
Default

i see that the solar cells will recharge the batteries in 4.41 hours (4h 25m), is it possible to increase the total m^2 of solar panels to drop it to 4h even? or even to 2h, as this would allow you to run with extended life support. This would allow you to run emergency life support off the solar panels during the day (or in space), and batteries at night (or in orbit on the dark side), and by shutting off non-vital areas it could allow you to trickle charge the batteries during the day while still running life support off of the solar cells. an integrated system, with minimal volume considerations but a possible increase to cost, would switch between the two relatively seamlessly.
just a thought.

Edit: after perusing the spreadsheet i see that in order to do that you would have to have a deployed solar panel array. which would eat up space, unless someone has come up with rules for having fold-up arrays mounted externally in the space reserved for standard arrays.

nice work on the excel sheet, btw. a few more notations would help those of us going "huh?" at your side notes, but other than that- a fine job.

Edit part Deux: I noticed you're pulling more power than the PP is generating by a significant margin.

what i see here in the spreadsheet is that you pull a total of 2037.2114Mw. your power plant generates 2016Mw, with an additional 6.642 from solar panels and 29.4 stored in batteries. even by running without the fuel processor, any com systems except radio, ems passive only, and no power to the probe launcher, you are still pulling 2022.6978Mw

this could be a problem.

Edit the Third: you had left your discretionary fuel in the calculations for life support, as well as the fuel processor and possibly the g-carrier and its fittings. so i removed all those from the calculations and you can reduce your PP to around 108.6kl - giving you 342.3381 kl left over......

one side effect, your batteries now last 5.79+ hours and your solar panels should be able to run things during daylight and shunt a small amount to the batteries.

if i'm reading this right- i haven't messed with megatraveller in a lonnnnnng time.........
__________________
Zoe: Preacher, don't the bible have some pretty specific things to say about killing?
Book: Quite specific. It is, however, somewhat fuzzier on the subject of kneecaps....

Last edited by shadowdragon; June 16th, 2010 at 01:10 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old June 16th, 2010, 02:53 PM
Major B Major B is offline
Citizen: SOC-14
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lithia
Posts: 1,093
Gallery : 28
Visit Major B's Blog
Major B Citizen
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowdragon View Post
Edit: after perusing the spreadsheet i see that in order to do that you would have to have a deployed solar panel array. which would eat up space, unless someone has come up with rules for having fold-up arrays mounted externally in the space reserved for standard arrays.
SD, this entry has a draft errata entry that covers extendable solar arrays.
__________________
Major B

T5 Gazelle-class Close Escorts (on DTRPG): http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/242277/T5-GazelleClass-Close-Escorts
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old June 16th, 2010, 09:17 PM
OjnoTheRed's Avatar
OjnoTheRed OjnoTheRed is offline
Citizen: SOC-13
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 765
Gallery : 17
Visit OjnoTheRed's Blog
OjnoTheRed Citizen+OjnoTheRed Citizen+
Default

Thank you heaps for your time and patience with the analysis. I will follow up on the power re-balancing and upload a new spreadsheet that's more clearly laid out. FYI just now, I maxed out the allowable surface area solar cells - in Mega Traveller, the square root of the hull volume in kL is the maximum allowable square metres of solar panel. A reasonable abstraction that allows for other things that need surface access.

Sorry, yeah, the notes aren't great, and some of them appear to be random calculations but are along the lines of "I wonder how many X I can fit into space Y?".
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old June 16th, 2010, 10:54 PM
Hemdian's Avatar
« Hemdian » Hemdian is offline
Count
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,635
Gallery : 0
Visit Hemdian's Blog
Hemdian Citizen+Hemdian Citizen+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OjnoTheRed View Post
Hello there. My daughter has been watching me get back into Traveller, and has naturally taken an interest in it.

She wanted to design a ship, and really wanted it to be a Jump-6 because "I was looking at all these ships and there wasn't a Jump-6 ship". It's true - she has been pouring over the Imperial Encyclopedia, really interested in the ships there.
Reading back over this thread I realised we've all gotten a little carried away on this. Is she still following what's going on or have we become too geeky? (Wouldn't want to put off a prospective new player.)
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old June 17th, 2010, 08:01 AM
OjnoTheRed's Avatar
OjnoTheRed OjnoTheRed is offline
Citizen: SOC-13
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 765
Gallery : 17
Visit OjnoTheRed's Blog
OjnoTheRed Citizen+OjnoTheRed Citizen+
Default

Hemdian, not at all, not at all - like many projects involving father-child relationships, it's Dad who gets carried away. And she's actually really pleased that the ship is getting discussed and receiving feedback.

The lesson here for her is that finding Internet communities who share interests passionately can be fun and safe. It's very special for her.

Just on the solar cells, one of the things I've considered is a structured shut down of the cargo bay for life support on solar cells only. But if I've managed to still supply life support to part of the fuel tanks, that may fix the power requirement problem.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old June 17th, 2010, 11:23 AM
OjnoTheRed's Avatar
OjnoTheRed OjnoTheRed is offline
Citizen: SOC-13
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 765
Gallery : 17
Visit OjnoTheRed's Blog
OjnoTheRed Citizen+OjnoTheRed Citizen+
Default

OK, I have cleaned up the spreadsheet from my scrappy calculations (some of which were a complete mystery to me, others were a complete mystery only until I deleted them and discovered bunches of cells giving errors).

I have corrected the power balance - have to love fusion power, just had to add a couple of cubic metres of plant and there's ample power to run everything just from the fusion.

Removing the last of the fuel from the life support needs took the power requirement down enough that basic life support and basic environment can now run on solar power only. Batteries will supply 4.5 hours of power for basic environment and basic life support. Thus, crucial systems for the crew are backed up with two separate power systems.

This is the adjusted spreadsheet in Microsoft Excel format (originally done in OpenOffice): http://www.box.net/shared/x72iac9j11
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
explorer, ship design

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fixing Joe Fugate's "MegaTraveller Ship Design Example" DonM MegaTraveller 72 April 14th, 2018 04:39 PM
Megatraveller Ship Design Software Gray Lensman MegaTraveller 3 February 16th, 2009 01:02 PM
Megatraveller Ship Designs Kavik The Fleet 1 January 4th, 2008 11:16 PM
MegaTraveller Ship Editor jaymin Software Solutions 3 February 8th, 2005 04:05 PM

This website and its contents are copyright ©2010- Far Future Enterprises. All rights reserved. Traveller is a registered trademark of Far Future Enterprises .
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 2010-2013, Far Future Enterprises. All Rights Reserved.