Encumbrance and Wounds
When a character suffers the -1 or -2 penalty for Encumbrance to his Abilities, does than just mean for skill check purposes, or for Wounds as well? I know that back in the old days we always played that it appled to wounds as well, which made it so that no one ever, ever exceeded his STR for encumbrance. But having your average guy limted to about 18-19 pounds of stuff seems a bit stingy.
I could see people being willing to carry more if the Encumbrance penalty did not apply to Wounds as well as skill checks.
What is other people's understanding of the rules?