Citizens of the Imperium

Citizens of the Imperium (http://www.travellerrpg.com/CotI/Discuss/index.php)
-   Classic Traveller (http://www.travellerrpg.com/CotI/Discuss/forumdisplay.php?f=56)
-   -   Arming a free trader (http://www.travellerrpg.com/CotI/Discuss/showthread.php?t=10754)

Black Globe Generator February 22nd, 2006 02:26 PM

Type A free trader.

Two hardpoints. Two triple turrets.

What's your favorite suite of weapons for the workhorse of the merchant fleet?

(Book 2 or Book 5 approaches are both welcome.)

Black Globe Generator February 22nd, 2006 02:26 PM

Type A free trader.

Two hardpoints. Two triple turrets.

What's your favorite suite of weapons for the workhorse of the merchant fleet?

(Book 2 or Book 5 approaches are both welcome.)

robject February 22nd, 2006 03:11 PM

As a referee, my favorite mix is: no weapons at all.

As a player, I know that without a token defense, the referee will allow pirates to descend upon me like a pack of rabid hyenas. I'd be stupid not to stick a laser on that puppy.

As a pragmatist, I know that the cost of defenses are small potatoes compared to the cost of the ship, so a nice LMS x 2 mix would do nicely.

As a ship design system designer, I suspect that six beam lasers is beyond the capacity of the Type A power plant, and so I would figure out the likely limit and then build as closely to the limits as possible.

As a player of chaotic-good alignment (?), I would jam six missile launchers in there. Bring them on. I am ready.

robject February 22nd, 2006 03:11 PM

As a referee, my favorite mix is: no weapons at all.

As a player, I know that without a token defense, the referee will allow pirates to descend upon me like a pack of rabid hyenas. I'd be stupid not to stick a laser on that puppy.

As a pragmatist, I know that the cost of defenses are small potatoes compared to the cost of the ship, so a nice LMS x 2 mix would do nicely.