Citizens of the Imperium

Citizens of the Imperium (http://www.travellerrpg.com/CotI/Discuss/index.php)
-   Recruiting Office (http://www.travellerrpg.com/CotI/Discuss/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   CT Play by Post Game @ RPOL (http://www.travellerrpg.com/CotI/Discuss/showthread.php?t=14535)

opensent December 2nd, 2007 11:35 AM

CT Play by Post Game @ RPOL

I'm looking for two more players for a Classic Traveller play by post Traveller game at RPOL. Fair Warning: I'm new to refing CT and I'm using pregenerated characters (you tell me what you want to play, I send you 10-30 characters that I generate at Signal GK. You pick, we play. Two more characters with shipboard skills would be great.

http://www.rpol.net/game.cgi?gi=2799...ate=1196581268

atpollard December 2nd, 2007 12:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by opensent (Post 243114)
I'm looking for two more players for a Classic Traveller play by post Traveller game at RPOL.

Not to make a big deal about it, but why don't you just play on COTI? The game does not appear to have started yet, so what is the benefit of recruiting here and playing in another location?

I was just curious.

opensent December 2nd, 2007 12:49 PM

Couple of reasons:

1) I run a mechwarrior game over there and play in a few others (D&D, etc.). Easier to check just one site when I want to get my PbP fix.

2) Built in die roller!

3) I like to have running threads for each of my players. I can have one thread per PC, hidden from every other player, which I can use to coordinate with the player. I have all the notes from the first day they started playing. Good for reference, good for hashing out issues without making things public, etc. Private groups also means I can split off players and run double blind games.

4) I can embed linked maps and images inside the text.

5) Private character sheets for each player, which I can update, or allow them to update.