Citizens of the Imperium

Citizens of the Imperium (http://www.travellerrpg.com/CotI/Discuss/index.php)
-   The Fleet (http://www.travellerrpg.com/CotI/Discuss/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   MGT Only: Help building a taco truck spaceship? (http://www.travellerrpg.com/CotI/Discuss/showthread.php?t=40031)

Adenralumdan May 10th, 2019 12:36 AM

Help building a taco truck spaceship?

Hi all!

I'm fairly new to Traveller, and I have a bit of an interesting ship building process. My players have decided they want to run a taco truck spaceship. I haven't built a ship before, and was hoping the forum would like to help me out.

Just looking at the supplied MGT ships, I thought I could convert a safari class ship into a half-circle shape and paint it like a taco, partially to make use of the streamlined Hull for atmospheric entry. Possibly use the whole lower floor plan as a restaurant setting.

If I'm going about this all wrong, please let me know so I can lead my group better!

aramis May 10th, 2019 05:12 AM

The shape of a taco is a wedge...

The only things odd about a taco truck are the seating for customers, the walk-in freezer, and the kitchen. A taco truck itself has a roughly 2.5x3x4m kitchen...30 m ... so just a hair over 2 Td... Call it 2.5 to be generous, or 4 for a better one.

How to price that kitchen? Well, we look up a taco truck price online, then convert to 1977 US$... which is roughly divide by four. Small kitchen trailers run $10K , reasonable trucks run $50k to $200k. So, let's say $50k for a 2 Td 1 cook kitchen; that becomes Cr12,500. The larger 4 ton one? Say KCr50 ($200k 4 = KCr50), and 2 man.

While the prices I used include road carriages and (for the high end) engines, vacuum and microgravity can be used as an excuse to not adjust them.

A 4m x6m x 2.1m walk-in is about $12k (from a quick google). that's 3 Td, and KCr3.

Seating?